Milk Train Cafe

I cone-not contain my excitement as I type out this post!! Firstly, as I’m still pinching myself that I actually started a blog, and secondly because this post is about ice cream! Just talking about ice cream puts a smile on my face! Does this happen to anyone else?!

I love a variety of ice creams as I’m sure many of you do too! But my childhood (who am I kidding, and adulthood) favourite has to be a Mr.Whippy from the ice cream van man! So imagine my excitement when a shop dedicated to soft serve-Mr.Whippy style ice creams opened up!

Milk Train Cafe opened its doors around 6 months ago in Covent Garden, and since then I have been seeing posts about it almost daily on Instagram! So last night, I finally went and let me tell you…it lived up to all its hype.

They have three base flavours of vanilla, matcha and the ‘daily special’, (yesterday’s was salted caramel) and a variety of toppings. From strawberry crunch to sprinkles to Oreo crumbs- the combinations are immense!

Okay so you’re probably thinking, ‘Kinna how is this different to other ice cream places we’ve already been to? Well… you have the option to add cotton candy around the ice cream! Yes you read correctly… COTTON CANDY!! Delicious ice cream and cotton candy – what more could anyone ever want? …umm did I mention that they do Sundaes? So as normal people would do we got two ice creams and two sundaes last night! Hey – we had to try everything😂 #forthegoodoftheblog

Presenting…

The Ice Creams

img_0822

Salted caramel ice cream with Oreo crumb.

img_0824

Vanilla ice cream with strawberry crunch.

How amazing do these look?! They tasted even better! I didn’t opt to get the matcha, as when I tasted it I found the flavour to be quite strong, that being said – it is one of their most popular flavours. It just wasn’t for me.

The Sundaes

img_0823

Cookies and cream sundae with cotton candy.

img_0821

Popcorn and salted caramel sundae.

I had the Salted Caramel and Popcorn Sundae and it was the best! I’ve never had popcorn with ice cream before and that combined with the caramel was great!

The only downside…MTC is a rather small shop with seating for no more than around 12 people which often causes a problem if you aren’t quick to get a table. But this doesn’t stop anyone as the queue is out the door! I’m just glad we got a seat as juggling multiple ice creams whilst attempting to take pictures would have been interesting!

I cannot wait to go back and try more flavours!

 

 

One thought on “Milk Train Cafe

Leave a Reply

