Padella

Helloooo February!! Well it’s over a week into February already, however is it just me or did January seem to drag? I think it’s a combination of festive blues, dry Jan (I don’t do this) and the cold. Walking to the station when it’s -3 degrees is not fun at all! But we cannoli do so much to make January that little bit bearable…perhaps something to pasta time away…and that is lots of amazing food!

A couple of weeks back I visited Padella in London Bridge. What started out as a popular pasta stall at Borough market has now turned into a fully fledged restaurant just next door.

img_0947

Back entrance through Borough Market

We arrived at around 6pm on a Friday evening, (be warned Padella does not take bookings but you can leave your name and number and they’ll text you when your table is ready, so you’re free to go to one of the many pubs/bars London Bridge has to offer) and were told it’s a 2 hour wait for a table! I’ll be honest – I think this just made me more determined to eat here, I mean it must be good if the wait is for 2 hours right? Let me tell you – it was worth the wait and so much more!!

Padella creators Tim and Jordan seriously know their stuff when it comes to pasta, but that’s no surprise considering that they travelled all over Italy through restaurants and people’s homes to perfect the art of making it. Oozing authenticity, Padella boasts a small but amazing menu of hand rolled pasta.

I think I’m just going to skip the starter for now and just talk about the deliciousness that is Pici Cacio & Pepe. Pici is a type of pasta which resembles spaghetti albeit slightly thicker, it is known for its rustic style.

img_1078

Pici Cacio & Pepe

This may look like a simple dish but it contains the three most comforting things you’ll ever want to hear – pasta, butter and cheese. How can anything which contains these things not be devoured? Winner of the London Restaurant Festival Awards’ “Best Dish of 2016”,  this dish is elevated by the smooth richness of the sauce coupled with the use of fresh black pepper.

I’m actually craving this dish as I type out this post. If you go here, you must try this Tuscan favourite. Each mouthful will leave you wanting more.

I also had the pleasure of trying one of the Tagliatelles, which was as equally tantalizing. Perfectly al-dente with a bold flavour of spicy n’duja running through it, complemented by the subtle notes of parsley.

img_1072

Tagliatelle with nduja, mascarpone and parsley

 

And if my words are not enough to whet your appetite, I will also mention that Padella is an absolute bargain! Voted  winner in Observer Food Monthly’s, “Best Cheap Eats 2016”  and topping Time Out’s list of “London Cheap Eats”, it has the ingredients for the making of a perfect restaurant. Most of the pastas are priced between £5-£8, which for a prime location is practically unheard of.

Now that I’ve expressed my love affair with the pasta at Padella I can tell you that I did also have starters and desserts here. I tried their sourdough bread & Puglian olive oil which was a nice way to begin the meal. Whilst for dessert I had the pear and almond tart which was surprisingly light sitting on a lovely almond base. My companion, opted for the salted caramel ice cream which was marred by it’s over saltiness causing the caramel to play support in this show.

To end, I will say that Padella exceeded all expectations and is now one of the (if not the) best pasta restaurants I have tried.

 

Leave a Reply

